Symposium

Symposium 2016

 

3rd Connected Communities Heritage Network Symposium

The 3rd Connected Communities Heritage Network Symposium will be held on 14th and 15th January 2016 at the University of Lincoln, Lincoln.

 

————————————————

Symposium Schedule

 

Thursday

 

10.15 Registration Minerva Building Foyer (TBC)

 

Morning Session EMMTEC Building  MT 0007

10.40 Welcome – N. Higgett and C. Lewis  CCHN Welcome  Video

10.50 Fiona HackneySoundwaves: Community Heritage Activism. Presentation Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Soundwaves: Sinclair – Hackney Audio   Video

11.10 Professor Paul Wells P.Wells@lboro.ac.uk – Loughborough University.
Making It Up As We Go Along: The Future of Animation Archives. Presentation Abstract  Video   

11.30 Richard Fynes fynesclinton@yahoo.com – Jain Museum in Leicester. Presentation Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Video

11.50 Q&A

12.00 Philip Riden Philip.Riden@nottingham.ac.uk – University of Nottingham. Waterways history and community history: reconciling the irreconcilable?   Video

12.20 Jenny Wilkinson p0931384x@myemail.dmu.ac.uk – De Montfort University. Investigating the impact of mobile apps on the emotional reaction and engagement of visitors to the Cultural Quarter, Leicester. Presentation Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Video

12.40 Q&A

13.00 Lunch – Minerva Building Foyer

13.40 Video showing of the short film Cotton Connections: Untangling the Threads of Slavery, produced by the Nottingham Slave Trade Legacies (screening will take place in MB1009). The film can be viewed at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b2QmVmXqP6g

 

Afternoon Session Minerva Building MB1009

14.00 Peter Rumney peter.rumney@ntu.ac.uk and Nettie Scriven (Co-director of Dragon Breath Theatre) – Nottingham Trent University.
Workshop: A Crack in Time 2015. Workshop Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Video

15.00 Antonia Liguori  A.Liguori@lboro.ac.uk – University of Loughborough
Workshop: Storying’ the Cultural Heritage: exploring how to apply Digital Storytelling in Cultural and Heritage Education in the light of 21st Century learning. Workshop Abstract   Video

16.00 Judith Green stjamesbenwell@gmail.com – St James’ Heritage and Environment Group. West End Stories”: The museum and the community – a case study of co-design and co-production. Presentation Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Video

16.20 Susanne Seymour Susanne.Seymour@nottingham.ac.uk – University of Nottingham. Making Reparative Historical Geographies: Reconnecting Cotton Textile Production Past and Present. Presentation Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b2QmVmXqP6g

16.40 Q&A and Discussion – Future Directions

17.00 Finish

 

Evening

17.45 Lincoln Tour

19.00 Lincoln Cathedral Tour

20.00 Conference Dinner at the Wig & Mitre Restaurant

 

 

Friday

 

Morning Session Minerva Buiding MB0302 Cargill Lecture Theatre

(8.45 Registration for delegates attending Friday only – Minerva Building Foyer)

 

9.00 Simon Brown simon.brown@nottinghamcity.gov.uk – Nottingham City Museums and Galleries. Universal RootsPresentation Abstract   Video

http://www.nottinghamcity.gov.uk/museumprojects/index.aspx?articleid=25049

9.20 Nigel Wood N.P.Wood@lboro.ac.uk – University of Loughborough. Towards a Creative Arts Community in Stratford, East  LondonPresentation Abstract   Video 

9.40 Kimberley Marwood  k.marwood@sheffield.ac.uk – University of Sheffield. On Shared Ground: Networks and encounters on the margins of community heritage. Presentation Abstract   Video

10.00 Q&A

10.15 Cathy Daly – University of Lincoln. Towards a Sustainable Practice for Managing Climate Change Impacts on Cultural Heritage. Presentation Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Video

10.35 Michael Noble Michael.Noble@nottingham.ac.uk – University of Nottingham. Ramgharia Leicester Ladies’ Sikh Tapestry Project. Presentation Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Video

10.55 Q&A

11.10 Dr Ruchit Purohit  ruchit.purohit@open.ac.uk – Open University. Empowering Design Practices – learning from the past. Presentation Abstract   Video 

11.30 Dr Neil Ravenscroft N.Ravenscroft@brighton.ac.uk – University of Brighton. Re-imagining stories as a means of doing community histories. Presentation Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Video

11.50 Katie Dent k.dent@csm.arts.ac.uk – Share Academy. Presentation Abstract   Video

12.10 Tom Pert tom.pert@rcahmw.gov.uk – Comisiwn Brenhinol Henebion Cymru / Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales. The People’s Collection Wales: Converting Cultural Policy to Community Provision. Presentation Abstract   Video

12.30 Q&A

12.45 Lunch – Minerva Building Foyer

 

Afternoon Session Minerva Buiding MB0302 Cargill Lecture Theatre

13.40 Dr Chiara Bonacchi c.bonacchi@ucl.ac.uk – UCL. Digitally Connected Communities: the value of crowd-based collaborations. Presentation Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Video 

14.00 Prof George McKay George.Mckay@uea.ac.uk - AHRC Leadership Fellow Connected Communities. ‘Connected Communities and the future of collaboration’. Symposium Presentation   Video

14.20 Sophie Long, Fiona Byrne, Keith Lilley K.Lilley@qub.ac.uk (“Living Legacies 1914-18″, AHRC WW1 Engagement Centre) – Queens University Belfast. Troubled legacies: commemorative practices and transnational identities in remembering WW1 in (Northern) Ireland. Presentation Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Video

14.40 Claire Sowton claire.sowton@ed.ac.uk – University of Edinburgh. ‘Artcasting: digital and mobile cultural heritage evaluation’. Presentation Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Video

15.00 Q&A

15.15 Vika Nightingale contact.vika.nightingale@gmail.com – University of Nottingham. Augmented Reality in Mobile Applications and its Potential for User Engagement. Presentation Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Video

15.35 David Freestone David_freestone810@hotmail.co.uk – De Montfort University. The Heritage Lottery Funded Silverstone Heritage Live project. Presentation Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Video

15.55 Leah Warriner-Wood LWarrinerWood@lincoln.ac.uk – University of Lincoln. Ongoing impacts: legacies of the ‘Hands on Tapestries’ project. Presentation Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Video

16.15 Jim Cheshire JCheshire@lincoln.ac.uk – University of Lincoln. Impact through Architectural Paint Research in the Heritage Sector. Presentation Abstract   Symposium Presentation   Video

16.35 Q&A

16.50 Close

 

Connected Communities Heritage Network Symposium – January 2015

Connected Communities Heritage Network Symposium – December 2013

2 comments

  1. […] I am looking toward to being part of the latest Heritage Network symposium, as part of Connected Communities, in Lincoln this week. There is, as always at this network’s events (this is the third), a packed programme containing a wonderfully varied and rich set of presentations, covering topics from canals and waterway communities to architectural paint research, apps and maps, stories and storytelling, museums and film screenings …. and a tour of Lincoln Cathedral on Thursday evening. The full programme is here. […]

  2. […] myself and Chiara presented case studies at the recent Connected Communities research symposium. Let me share a few thoughts about my […]

Leave a Reply