Symposium

AHRC Heritage Network Symposium 2018 

 

4th Connected Communities Heritage Network Symposium

The 4th Connected Communities Heritage Network Symposium will be held on 29th June.

Venue: Leicester Castle, De Montfort University, Leicester, UK

AHRC Heritage Network Symposium Abstracts

————————————————

Symposium Schedule

 

9.00-9.25 am   Registration and tea/coffee

9.25 am            Welcome – Nick Higgett

 

Morning Session – Paper Presentations

9.30 am             A Century of Stories. Hitting the streets with heritage. A model for reaching out to communities Amanda Hanton amanda.hanton@leics.gov.uk, Leicester City Council www.centuryofstories.org.uk

9.50 am             The Medals All Round Research Initiative (MARRI)

Michelle Young myoung13@qub.ac.uk, Queens University Belfast, Living Legacies 1914-1918 WW1 Engagement Centre, www.livinglegacies1914-18.ac.uk/

10.10 am           Build Your Own Discovery, Kensington Palace
Jatinder Kailey ‎Jatinder.Kailey@hrp.org.uk Historic Royal Palaces, Tower of London

10.30 am           Govan/Gdansk: The Arts and Participatory Interventionism
Katarzyna Kosmala ‎Katarzyna.Kosmala@uws.ac.uk and Liz Gardiner University of the West of Scotland

10.50 am           Discussion

11.00 am           Tea/coffee

11.20 am           The development of a transformative exhibition design management framework to enhance engagement in small independent museums in Thailand
Nuntamon Kutulid P14030476@my365.dmu.ac.uk, De Montfort University

11.40 am           “It takes you away from you…stepping out of my world and into the carnival of Leicester Races” –engaging people with ‘invisible’ heritage.  A framework for designing interpretive digital media.
Jenny Wiliknson  De Montfort University

12.00 pm           TBC

12.20 pm           Wonders of the Peak: building digital links between collections and the landscape.
Benjamin Bedwell Benjamin.Bedwell@nottingham.ac.uk, University of Nottingham, and Joe Perry, Derbyshire County Council

12.40 pm           Discussion

1.00 pm             Lunch

 

Afternoon Session – Workshops and Panel Discussions

2.00 pm

Option A
Workshop: ‘Measuring Museum Wellbeing’
Morse, Nuala M. (Dr.) nuala.morse@leicester.ac.uk, School of Museum Studies, University of Leicester Professor, Helen Chatterjee, UCL and Zoë Brown, Tyne & Wear Archives & Museums
Option B
Workshop: The Royle Collection:  Who do we think we are?
Catherine Pearce C.Pearce@mmu.ac.uk, Education and Social Research Institute, Manchester Metropolitan University​, Dr Anna Catalani (Uni of Lincoln), Stephen Evans (MMU) and Dr Rebecca Patterson (MMU)

3.00 pm

Option A
Workshop: VisitorBox: creative ideas for cultural heritage visitor experiences
Benjamin Bedwell Benjamin.Bedwell@nottingham.ac.uk University of Nottingham
Option B
Workshop: Collaborative and action research        TBC
Julia Ankenbrand JAnkenbrand@britishmuseum.org British Museum

4.00 pm

Option A
Panel Discussion: Collaborative Approaches to Heritage: The Legacy of the WW1 Engagement Centres
Nicola Gauld ‎N.Gauld@bham.ac.uk Voices of War & Peace Centre, Library of Birmingham
Option B
Panel Discussion: Making Value: Catalysing Fashion and Textiles Heritage in the Midlands
Professor Fiona Hackney F.Hackney@wlv.ac.uk University of Wolverhampton

4.50      Final Discussions and Close

 

 

Connected Communities Heritage Network Symposium – January 2016

Connected Communities Heritage Network Symposium – January 2015

Connected Communities Heritage Network Symposium – December 2013

Leave a Reply